Home About



Who We Are

The Centre for Progressive Capitalism’s mission is to develop policies and influence policymakers to instigate a more progressive and democratic capitalism. We are hosted by Policy Network, a leading international thinktank promoting the best progressive thinking on major social and economic challenges. Our work is led by a cross-party advisory board and a steering group of technical and policy experts. We undertake original research and promote debate through publications, expert seminars and public engagement.

Advisory Board

Sharon Bowles

Baroness Sharon Bowles

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamstead served as Liberal Democrat MEP for the South East England region from 2005 to 2014. Sharon chaired the European parliament’s economic and monetary affairs committee for five years. She is a non-executive director of the London Stock Exchange and a member of the Systemic Risk Council.

Vince New

The Rt Hon Sir Vince Cable

Vince Cable served as secretary of state for business, innovation and skills between 2010 and 2015. Vince was MP for Twickenham for 18 years and served as deputy leader of the Liberal Democrats. He was knighted in the 2015 honours list for political and public service. Before becoming an MP he was chief economist at Shell Oil Company.

Lord Andrew Cooper

Lord Andrew Cooper

Lord Cooper of Windrush is the co-founder of the research and strategy consultancy Populus. Andrew was the prime minister’s director of strategy between 2011 and 2013. He was previously the deputy director of the Conservative Research Department. He currently serves on the House of Lords’ information committee and is a visiting lecturer at the LSE.

Stephen Green

Lord Stephen Green

Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint was minister of state for trade and investment between 2011 and 2013. Stephen is a Conservative peer serving on the Lords’ European Union committee and the EU internal market sub-committee. He was previously group chief executive and group chairman of HSBC Group.

Stephen Kinnock

Stephen Kinnock MP

Stephen Kinnock was elected Labour MP for Aberavon in 2015. Stephen is the parliamentary private secretary to Angela Eagle MP, the shadow secretary of state for business, innovation and skills. He is chair of the PLP Labour Business Group and sits on the Commons’ European scrutiny  committee. Prior to his parliamentary career, Stephen  held positions at the British Council and the World Economic Forum.

Kay Swinburne

Kay Swinburne MEP

Kay Swinburne was elected Conservative MEP for Wales in 2009. Kay is the European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) group’s co-ordinator on the economics and monetary committee in the European parliament. She is also the ECR group’s co-ordinator on the special committee on the financial, economic and social crisis.


Chuka Umunna MP

Chuka Umunna was elected Labour MP for Streatham in 2010. Chuka served as shadow secretary of state for business, innovation and skills from 2011 to 2015. He has served as a member of the Treasury committee, and currently sits on the home affairs committee. Before becoming an MP he was an employment law solicitor.

Steering Group


Stephen Hockman QC

Stephen Hockman QC has been in practice at the Bar for 40 years. He specialises in regulatory law, particularly in the environmental and health and safety fields. In 2011 he wrote Legislating for responsible capitalism: what it means in practice, which was published by Policy Network. Stephen was the Chairman of the Bar of England and Wales in 2006.

Dina Medland

Dina Medland

Dina Medland is an independent writer, editor and commentator focused on corporate governance, ethics and the workings of the boardroom. She is on the team of contributors to @ForbesEurope and is an ex-Financial Times permanent staff member who has been a regular contributor in recent years.

John Muellbauer

Professor John Muellbauer is a Senior Research Fellow of Nuffield College, Professor of Economics and a Senior Fellow of the Institute for New Economic Thinking at the Oxford Martin School, Oxford University. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, of the Econometric Society, of the European Economic Association and a CEPR Research Fellow.

John Plender

John Plender

John Plender is a columnist at the Financial Times specialising in economic and monetary policy. John’s most recent book is Capitalism: Money, Morals and Markets. He has served as chair of the Pensions and Investment Research Consultants (PIRC) and a FTSE 350 company. He currently chairs the Official Monetary and Financial Institutions Forum.


Nicola Smith

Nicola Smith 

Nicola Smith is head of the TUC’s economic and social affairs department. Nicola is also a member of the social security advisory committee. Prior to joining the TUC she held roles for the Commission on Vulnerable Employment, the Centre for Economic and Social Inclusion, Barnardo’s, and the then Department for Education and Skills.

Jenny Tooth

Jenny Tooth OBE

Jenny Tooth is the chief executive of the UK Business Angels Association. Jenny has over 20 years’ experience of supporting SMEs to access investment, both in the UK and internationally. Jenny was awarded an OBE in the new year’s honours list 2015 for services to small businesses.


Thomas Aubrey bio

Thomas Aubrey

Thomas is director of the Centre for Progressive Capitalism and founder of Credit Capital Advisory. He previously ran credit and economic analytics businesses serving as the managing director of Fitch Solutions and Thomson Datastream. He has written widely on financial and economic issues including Profiting from Monetary Policy (Palgrave 2012) and co-authored Prediction Markets: The end of the regulatory state? (2007) with Professor Frank Vibert.

Andy (CPC)

Andy Norman

Andy is a skills and corporate governance analyst. He holds an MSc in Development Economics from the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London and a BSc in Economics from Loughborough University. Andy has previous experience in a UK based international think tank and non-profit organisations in Tanzania and India.


Katherine Roberts

Katherine is head of finance and operations. She holds an MSc from the School of Public Policy, University College London and a BA in international political economy from University of California, Berkeley. Katherine is currently completing her MBA at Warwick Business School.

The image is New Form Technology by Donna Cleveland, published under CC BY 2.0